LOOK AT THIS RIDICULOUS BASIL.

I found this at our local co-op while fiddling around in the produce section. It was harvested from a farm in Burlington, roots still attached. I kept the plant in an old pitcher with water, as there was no way in hell I could use that much basil today.

But believe me, I tried.

You see this beauty? Fresh basil, grated parmesan, olive oil, garlic, a little water, and, of course, my vibrant pink Alaean Hawaiian sea salt. Turned out to be much more salt than I needed, and I should have guessed that just by looking at the damn thing, but…well, it gave me an excuse to make a second, more basil-y batch to add to the first. It’s probably not what we’d consider a typical pesto, but it’s damn tasty.

It’s going on my pasta, my pizza, my bagel sandwiches, and probably a cracker or two.

And lest you think me the awesomest awesome that ever did awesome…the mess:

Fine, it’s not as bad as it could’ve been, and I had already cleaned up much of the counter for prior shots. But I did drop the blade at the end, causing pesto to fly all over the kitchen. You can see a few goops above, but it got worse.

Special thanks to Jen over at Put a spork in it. for the free mini food processor! In future photos you will likely see other presents from this classy dame, and you will be jealous. Very, very jealous.

I’ll try to remember to post the recipe tomorrow. For now, time to catch a bus.

