God, I love salsa.

I don’t have any pictures for you today. Just a damn delicious recipe for one of my favorite salsas of all time.

  • 1 lb tomatillos, peeled and quartered
  • 1 habanero pepper (include seeds for extra kick)
  • 1 onion, chopped (I usually only use half of one brown onion due to my sensitivity)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 4 chipotle chilies in adobo (original recipe calls for 1-2; this will NOT satisfy my tastebuds)
  • 1 lime (juice of)
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro (original recipe also suggests parsley, basil, or a blend of all three — but I love cilantro)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Toss in a blender and puree. Taste and add more ingredients as necessary. I usually end up dumping about half the adobo sauce in, plus more lime juice.

I have seen grown men sweat over this. I used to make it over summer in LA, sitting outside at night with a group of friends and a bunch of beer, passing around a giant tupperware container of the salsa and a bag of salty chips. We were trashy, but we loved every second of it. If I had any left at the end of the night, it would pair up deliciously with quesadillas or fajitas the next day.

Originally found here.

