I love the thrill of apartment-hunting. There’s something about being able to walk inside an empty place, see something normally so private on display, letting your imagination run wild with ideas. The possibilities seem endless. The experience is invigorating and, even if you’re only moving a few blocks away, you feel like you’re really making a significant change. It’s a great way to shake things up.

I despise the practicality of apartment-hunting. I can only afford so much (er, so little). With Jake coming over so often, I have to take certain aspects into consideration that normally wouldn’t matter — off-street parking, enough room for two people, etc. He refuses to let me get stuck with a bad deal, which is the exact attitude I need, but not always the one I think I want. Burlington is notorious for being a difficult place to find housing. The best time is right when all the students are graduating, and apartments get plucked quickly. Naturally, I’m stressed. I want to know I have a place to live, and I want to know where. And available, affordable apartments in Burlington are already beginning to whittle away.

So, how am I coping with the fun and terrifying stress triggers? I’m packing furiously and thinking about cookies. Lots of cookies. Chocolate chip, lavender tea, shortbread, lemon, key lime, spicy ginger, peanut butter oatmeal, snickerdoodle…

I am losing this battle on all fronts.

